Fifth Greater China Conference

The Committee of 100 successfully held its Fifth Greater China Conference on October 31, 2013 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beijing, China.

This year’s conference focused on building bilateral strategic trust. As the United States and China manage growing challenges at home and abroad, Washington and Beijing’s policy decisions will impact the global economy and security environment. Trust between both countries is fundamental to effective cooperation in choosing win-win solutions. Conference roundtables explored four topics to strengthen cooperation: philanthropy in China, U.S.-China strategic trust, cross-border investment in innovation and technology, and environmental sustainability.

Thanks to the leadership of the Conference Co-Chairs – Wei Sun Christianson, Dazong Wang, H. Roger Wang, and Ya-Qin Zhang – this year’s top-notch program and distinguished speakers further enriched the U.S.-China dialogue. U.S. Embassy Deputy Chief of Mission Daniel Kritenbrink gave welcome remarks. Madam Qiu Yuanping, Director of the Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council, shared thoughts on U.S.-China relations. People’s Republic of China Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs Zheng Zeguang and Ambassador Mickey Kantor, former U.S. Trade Representative and Secretary of Commerce, gave luncheon keynote addresses. Zhou Xiaochuan, Governor of the People’s Bank of China, presented the gala keynote address.

The inclusion of the Leadership Scholarship Program (LSP) awards ceremony in this year’s gala awards dinner celebrated C-100’s commitment to cultivating the next generation of Chinese leaders.  LSP Co-Chairs – Gareth Chang, George Koo, Dazong Wang, and H. Roger Wang – led this year’s selection and awards program.

C-100 Chairman Dominic Ng led the conference proceedings. C-100 members who attended the conference and gala included: Ed Chan, David Chang, Lily Lee Chen, Pehong Chen, Wu-Fu Chen, Wei Sun Christianson, Robert Gee, Ming Hsieh, Ta-lin Hsu, Clarence Kwan, Stewart Kwoh, Handel Lee, Richard Y. Lee, Howard Li, Shu Li, Paul Lin, Peter Liu, John Long, Henry Tang, Carter Tseng, Dazong Wang, Roger Wang, Walter Wang, Charlie Woo, Jay Xu, Linda Tsao Yang, Shirley Young, Ya-Qin Zhang, and Debra Wong Yang.

C-100’s Journalist Delegation members – Fred Hiatt, Editorial Page Editor and Columnist, The Washington Post; Henry Finder, Editorial Director, The New Yorker; Adam Kushner, Executive Editor, The National Journal; and John Harris, Editor-in-Chief, Politico – met with a few students of C-100’s Leadership Scholarship Program before departing to Shanghai and Hong Kong for additional delegation meetings.

A delegation of 25 C-100 members met with China’s Premier Li Keqiang post-conference to discuss the current state of U.S.-China relations. Major Chinese media outlets, including CCTV-1 7:00pm News, Xinhua News Agency, People’s Daily, China Daily, and China News Service, covered the November 1 meeting in Beijing.  Click here to view media clips.

The Committee deeply appreciates your participation in this conference and support of C-100’s mission. Please take a few minutes to complete the evaluation form. Your feedback is appreciated.

About Committee of 100:

The Committee of 100 is a leadership organization of prominent Chinese Americans in business, government, academia, and the arts. For over 20 years, the Committee has served as a substantive bridge in the U.S.-China dialogue by fostering regular exchanges with the leadership of Beijing, Taipei, and Washington. Members of the Committee of 100 are leading U.S. citizens of Chinese descent who leverage their collective influence, resources and experiences to address important issues affecting U.S.-China relations as well as significant concerns of the Chinese American community.